Those with Access Setup permission enabled can add, edit, and delete Users on the Company Info and Team Settings page.

In this article you will learn how to:

  1. Add a User
  2. Edit and delete existing Users in Aptly
  3. Permission allowances and ascribing permissions to Role types

Add a User to Aptly

Go to your Company and Team Settings page and click the New User button:

A fly out panel will prompt you to:

  1. Provide Contact Details
  2. Select Role type 
  3. Send an invite email to the new user
  4. Save

The User will get an email invite entitled "Welcome to Aptly" containing an activation link.

Edit and Delete Existing Users

To edit a user go the Company Info & Team setting page, locate the User to edit and click the edit icon (square/pencil icon):

You can change contact info, Role, and team from the fly out. 

To delete a User, click the trash icon and confirm the deletion in the subsequent prompt. Important: Before you delete a user, make sure to re-assign any outstanding tasks or emails.

Permissions and Roles

Permissions allow users to access certain features in Aptly. Roles are groups of permissions assigned to user types. For example, the Aptly account owner will have an "Admin" role.

Roles and permissions have been defined on all new accounts and usually don't need adjusting but key permissions have been defined below in case you need to customize Roles:

Setup - Access all areas of setup: Enabling this exposes all configuration options on the Company Info and Team Settings page. This should be limited to strictly Admins.

Allow access to only certain organization-wide configurations by specifying below:

Setup - Allows inviting guest users

Setup - Can Change Password

Setup - Communication Templates

Setup - Topics


Private Calendar Admin - Full access to all private calendars: Users can see events on the private calendars of the team members (they will not see event details)

Shared Calendar Admin - Full access to all shared calendars: Users can see events on the shared calendars of the team members (they will not see event details unless they have access to use this shared calendar)

These phone permission should be restricted to Admins or upper-management:

Phone - Allow sending of bulk SMS: Some non-managers may need this permission to send mass text messages to tenants, etc should you choose to allow it

Phone - Allow toggling call recording on outbound calls

Phone - Manage all shared phone numbers

Phone - Manage paid features (create numbers, call recording, etc)

Reports - View: Allows a user to see the reports tab on a task board and will allow the user to access the Inbox insights

Can read complete survey details: Allows user to see CSAT survey submissions for all users on the account

Do not use/enable these permissions without speaking with Aptly Customer Success:

Channel Monitoring Access - Personal channels are viewable by Admin

Channel Monitoring Admin - Can read access enabled channels

Email - Allow sending of bulk messages: Should be reserved for Admins or upper-management but some non-managers may need this permission to send mass emails to tenants, etc should you choose to allow it

Email - Manage all shared email accounts: Allows sync and access configurations to users for shared inboxes.

If enabled, conversations will write-back to the Contact card based on the Contact type. For example, if you enable "Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Owner/Investors", all conversations to owners will be publicly visible to the organization even if the conversation was had with a private and personal inbox.

Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Applicants

Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Former Applicants

Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Guest Users

Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Other Contacts

Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Owner/Investors

Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Owner Prospects

Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Past Residents

Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Roommates

Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Team Members

Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Tenant Prospects

Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Tenants/Occupants

Inbox - Support automatic sharing of all conversations from Vendors

Did this answer your question?